WARM UP WITH SOME SPICE-FILLED CHICKEN CURRY

curry chicken

With the holidays in full swing, I thought I would share something other than pumpkin with you! (Don’t worry, that doesn’t mean I won’t have any winter produce recipes coming your way.) I love to make dishes where you can mix everything together. It makes it easier for me to get my little one to eat his veggies. My husband loves curry and since I don’t make it often, I created a traditional curry recipe with my personal touch just for him.

Curry is a great boost to your immune system in that it helps with inflammation, fights cancer, and it is even found to help prevent the onset of Alzheimer’s and dementia. So sprinkle it in your dish,ย  knowing you are truly adding more “spice” to your life ๐Ÿ™‚

Ingredients:

1 lb. of free-range organic chicken

1 can of coconut milk

1 head of cauliflower, cut into bite-sized chunks

1 red pepper, chopped

1 medium sweet onion, chopped

1 cup of organic peas

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 1/2 Tbs. of curry powder

1 tsp. of sea salt

1/4 tsp. of garam masala

1 Tbs. of toasted sesame oil, divided

2 Tbs. fresh cilantro, chopped

Dash of cayenne (if you like a little more heat)

Preparation:

Heat a large saute pan on medium high heat and add the sesame oil. Add the onions and garlic and saute for several minutes. Add the red peppers and cook for a few more minutes. Then add the curry, salt and garam masala and mix well. Make a “well” in the middle of the pan and add the remaining sesame oil and then add the chicken. Cook for about 5 minutes then add the cauliflower and mix well to season. Add the coconut milk, cover and simmer for about 15-20 minutes. A few minutes before serving, add the peas and cilantro. This is a great paleo style meal but you can add some hot jasmine rice to compliment this dish. I have to add rice for my son to coat the heat from the spices. What are some of your favorite curry dishes? Do you have a mouth-watering recipe you would like to share? I would love to hear from you.

Bon appetite my friend!

Leave a Reply

