Sweet Lemon Coconut Bread

coconut-bread 1

I am slowly transforming my family’s diet to gluten-free, since I have found that works best for our health. So being a total foodie and cooking connoisseur, I am learning to create healthful versions of great food! I wanted to make a healthful treat for my guests, at my essential oils class I taught in my home. So I adopted a coconut bread recipe from another recipe I found here, from the Candida Diet website. (I will soon be posting more about Candida and how it is affecting my health.) I love, love coconut oil and all of the medicinal properties it brings with its delicious flavor! I added a little zing to the recipe by infusing it with pure lemon essential oil. Essential oils are one of my new loves and I simply can’t live without them! After months of research I have chosen to partner with an AMAZINGΒ brand of essential oils. They have extremely high standards in the process and the sources in making their oils. Oh and they smell divine and have amazing results in our family. Most essential oils are not food grade, so be careful when choosing for consumption.

Studies have shown that coconut oil can help fight off bacteria, viruses, fungus and even Candida. Coconut oil contains a saturated fat called lauric acid, a medium chain triglyceride which helps improve cholesterol levels and helps restore your thyroid function. So why would you not want to eat thisΒ  yummy treat?

Ingredients:

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup almond meal

1/2 cup coconut milk Use only creamy part on top – so don’t shake the can!)

5 organic eggs

2 Tbs. coconut oil

1 tsp. pure Madagascar vanilla extract

1 tsp. aluminum-free baking powder

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. of stevia

8-10 drops of pure lemon essential oil

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly oil a loaf pan with coconut oil. Blend the eggs, oil, stevia, salt and vanilla together in a blender. In a large mixing bowl, add the remaining ingredients and then add the wet mixture and whisk together until there are no lumps. Pour mixture into a loaf pan and bake for 30 to 40 minutes. Oven temperatures may vary so check after 30 minutes. If the bread seems “springy” to touch and a knife comes out clean, its done!

Bon appetite!

Do you have any great gluten-free recipes you would love to share with me? I would love to hear any suggestions from you or if you tried my recipe!

Leave a Reply

