PALEO ITALIAN EGG MUFFINS

Paleo Italian Egg Muffins

I wanted to change things up a bit for breakfast. So instead of my regular smoothies, I have created a delicious Italian egg muffin! My dear friend and personal trainer, Shaheinda at Phoenix Trainer told me about one of her new breakfast dishes, so here is my rendition of a Paleo egg muffin. I wanted it packed with veggies so I incorporated kale and tomatoes with fresh basil. I love that you cook once and can eat several times thereafter! That is a concept I am trying to master for the new year.

Ingredients:

12 organic eggs

½ container of cherry tomatoes, cut in halves

1/8 of a red onion, diced

2 large leaves of kale, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

Handful of fresh, chopped basil

Sea salt and pepper to taste

1 Tbs. + 1 tsp. of coconut oil

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a muffin pan with the 1 Tbs. of coconut oil. I use a paper towel to grease the pan so I don’t use too much oil. In a medium-high heat pan, add 1 tsp. of coconut oil and sauté onions for about a minute, then add the tomatoes and garlic and cook for a minute. Add kale, salt and pepper and cook until kale has wilted. Take pan off the burner to cool mixture and whisk eggs in a large bowl. Add vegetable mixture to eggs, then spoon egg mixture into muffin pan. Measure about ¼ cup for each muffin well. Bake for 30 – 35 minutes. Muffins are cooked when they are fluffy and golden brown. (Pierce muffin with a knife to see if it comes out clean.)

You can add fresh salsa or avocado to make this a very hearty meal! You can also change-up the recipe by adding different vegetables or spices, whatever you prefer. I would love to hear what you create with this recipe!

2 thoughts on “PALEO ITALIAN EGG MUFFINS

Leave a Reply

