CREAMY ROASTED TOMATO BASIL SOUP

Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

I looooove tomato soup. I have always wanted to create a recipe. I finally did it the other day and boy am I excited. I scoured the internet and came across a soup I adapted my recipe from, by Ina Garten. Who doesn’t love her food?! My son and I loved watching her show when eating lunch. I loved to see all of the beautiful places she visited and I totally covet her kitchen!

Besides the fresh basil, I think the creaminess from the cashews is my favorite part of this soup. This soup is loaded with anti-inflammatory foods. Tomatoes are a rich source of lycopene and beta-carotene. Basil contains vitamins K, A, and C, iron, calcium, manganese, and magnesium. Basil also has antibacterial properties. Thyme contains nutrients such as vitamins C and A, fiber, riboflavin, and potassium. Oregano is a powerhouse antioxidant. It contains vitamins A, C, E and K, folate, iron and so much more! No wonder I feel better when I consume this soup! I added a few slices of avocado on top of mine to make it heartier as a meal! I confess I would have preferred a big piece of bread to savor the myriad of flavors in my soup. But that is not a luxury I can afford any more.

Herbs

I am looking forward to the cooler months ahead, to create more nutrient dense comfort foods. I hope this soup warms your heart and tummy like it did mine! Bon appetite!

Ingredients:

(Please use organic when possible)

4 cups of plum tomatoes

1 large onion, chopped

2 celery stalks, chopped

5 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 26 oz container of Pomi chopped tomatoes

1/2 cup soaked raw cashews (I soaked mine for 2 hours)

1/4 cup filtered water

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 qt. vegetable broth

3 cups of fresh basil, chopped

1 Tbs. fresh oregano, chopped

1 tsp. fresh thyme, chopped

2 Tbs. extra virgin coconut oil

1 Tbs sea salt

1 1/2 tsp black pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut tomatoes in half lengthwise. Mix in a large bowl with coconut oil, salt and pepper. Spread on a cookie sheet and roast in the oven for 30 to 40 minutes.

Blend cashews and water in a high-powered blender, until smooth and creamy.

Meanwhile, chop up your vegetables and herbs and then in a large pot, sauté the onions, celery with a teaspoon of coconut oil and then add the garlic about 5 minutes into cooking the mixture.

Add the roasted tomatoes (juice and all) to the pot and mix well. Then add the Pomi chopped tomatoes, cashew mixture and stir again. Finally, add the extra virgin olive oil, broth, fresh herbs and stir.

Let simmer for about 30 minutes. If you want a thicker, creamier soup, take half out and puree in the blender and add back to the soup. I pureed some of mine and it gave it a great consistency. Top with some avocado for a hearty meal!

What do you add with your soups, to have a clean-eating meal? I would love to learn about other creative dishes to add with my soups!

2 thoughts on “CREAMY ROASTED TOMATO BASIL SOUP

Leave a Reply

