VEGGIE + HUMMUS WRAP

Veggie Wrap B Logo

 

I was shopping at Bedner’s, my favorite green market store, the other day and got inspired to create a veggie sandwich I had on my honeymoon in Costa Rica. The sandwich was loaded with sweet, roasted veggies and topped off with melted cheese on fresh focaccia bread. This sandwich was so delicious, we stopped at Al Bacio on the way to the airport to enjoy it one last time.

As much as I would have loved to recreate the exact recipe; I had to find a healthier alternative for the bread and cheese. So, what better way to replace bread than with a green leafy veggie. I needed something to really bring the sandwich together, so I added my homemade hummus.

This sandwich was a labor of love. I roasted a large batch of veggies and whipped up a big bowl of hummus, so my husband and I can enjoy this sandwich several times this week! I didn’t have mushrooms at the time, but they were part of the recipe I wanted to create, so I included them in the ingredient list. I will have to make this again next week, just to savor the mushrooms. Let me know how much you enjoy this recipe too!

Ingredients:

2 red peppers, sliced
1 zucchini, halved and sliced
1 onion, sliced
1 ear of corn
2 large portabella mushrooms, sliced
6 carrots, halved and sliced
3 Tbs. Coconut oil
Sea salt and pepper to taste

Hummus (find recipe here)
Collard greens (6 large leaves), washed

Balsamic vinegar

Preparation:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease two shallow baking pans with 2 tablespoons of coconut oil.

Toss veggies (even the ear of corn) in a large bowl with 1 tablespoon of coconut oil and salt and pepper to taste. (You may need to add a little more oil.)

Divide them between the two shallow baking pans. (If the pan is too deep, it will steam your veggies!!)

Roast veggies for 30 to 40 minutes. Check every ten minutes and stir the veggies around so they roast evenly.

Remove from oven and let cool. Cut corn off of the cob and mix in with veggies.

Place one collard leaf flat, with stem part of the leaf pointing away from you. Spread about 3 tablespoons of hummus on the center of the leaf. (Picture shown is the opposite way to place leaf down. I realized this after rolling my first wrap πŸ™‚

Veggie wrap logo

Add a generous amount of veggies on top of the hummus. It comes to about a 1/3 cup of veggies. Then lightly drizzle balsamic vinegar over the veggies.

Fold up the bottom of collard leaf and roll up to form a wrap.

Veggie wrap c logo

Enjoy your totally guilt-free, nutrient-packed meal!!!

Leave a Reply

