APPLE PIE SMOOTHIE

APPLE PIE SMOOTHIE

Ahhh, fall is in the air! Okay, in Florida it means the temp is only 80 degrees and humidity is below 50 percent. For me, that will have to suffice until one day we move further north. While I loooove pumpkin, I also love to celebrate the season of crisp, delicious apples. Apples are such a warm and comforting food this time of year. I was making my son apple pie oatmeal, so I thought I would create a smoothie with similar flavors.

Did you know that the fiber and phytonutrients in an apple, can help regulate your blood sugar level? Eating fruits in their whole form is more beneficial than the conventional juice you would buy in the store. It has a completely different effect in your blood sugar levels. To help support metabolism and the immune system, I infused this smoothie with real cinnamon bark (cinnamomum zeylanicum) essential oil and added walnuts for a protein boost. I prefer the cinnamon oil to the powdered cinnamon which is actually cassia. I only recommend a certain essential oil to consume. Contact me for more information. Here is a great article from Dr. Axe on ceylon cinnamon versus cassia.

Ingredients:

4 oz plant-based milk

4 oz. coconut water

1 frozen banana (or 1/2 Haas avocado) for creaminess

1 organic granny smith apple sliced

1/4 cup walnuts

1 Tbs. coconut butter (manna)

1 scoop of protein powder

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 Tbs. raw honey (if using avocado, the banana is sweet enough)

1 drop of cinnamon bark essential oil (I like mine with a strong cinnamon taste. If you don’t, take a wooden toothpick and place 1 drop of cinnamon oil on it and stir it into the smoothie mix halfway through the mix cycle.)

Several ice cubes

Preparation:

Combine all ingredients in blender, frozen items last. Blend on high or smoothie cycle until smooth and creamy. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

