MOIST + DELICIOUS APPLE CINNAMON COFFEE CAKE

Apple Cinnamon Coffee Cake

I wanted to make a special coffee cake to compliment the great coffee with an event I was hosting. I had an Open House to display my different gift ideas with essential oils. I love creating a cozy, warm and welcoming atmosphere in my home for guests. What better way than to brew some fresh coffee and bake something in the oven.

The coffee is from Restore Coffee Roasters, my church’s coffee shop in the mall. You can find them here. Our coffee shop was created to help fund and support many organizations through our church. And I may be a bit biased, but I think our coffee is better than Starbuck’s ๐Ÿ™‚

This cake turned out fantastic! It was moist and delicious! The cinnamon and sweetness was juuuuust right! I will be keeping this recipe as one of my go-to dessert or breakfast cakes. I can’t take full credit for this recipe. It was adapted from the recipe from WellPlated by Erin. You can find the original recipe here.ย I used gluten-free flour and substituted the buttermilk with full-fat canned coconut milk, the sugar with pure maple syrup and coconut sugar, added pure cinnamon essential oil to add some depth to the flavor and nixed the sugar glaze. This cake was sweet enough without the glaze.

Ingredients:

For the cake:

1 1/4 cups gluten-free all purpose baking flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill)

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. allspice

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

4 Tbs. grass-fed butter, softened (I love Kerry’s)

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

1 large egg, at room temperature

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

3 drops pure cinnamon essential oil* (I only recommend a certain brand for consumption)

1/2 cup full-fat canned coconut milk

2 organic red delicious apples, peeled and diced

For the topping:

3/4 cup organic old fashioned rolled oats (not instant!)

1/3 cup of organic coconut palm sugar

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp sea salt

2 Tbs grass-fed butter

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. I used a nonstick pie pan from LeCreuset. Grease your pie pan if it isn’t non-stick. You can also use a spring form pan. Grease it then line it parchment paper and grease it again.

Prepare the cake: In a medium mixing bowl, mix together the flour, sea salt, baking soda, all spice and nutmeg.

In a large glass or stainless steel bowl, cream together the maple syrup and butter. I used an electric hand mixer to give it a more fluffy consistency, since I didn’t use sugar. Stir in the cinnamon essential oil then add the egg and vanilla, mix well. (Note: drop the cinnamon onto a stainless steel spoon before adding, to avoid too many drops in your mixture.)

I followed Erin’s instructions in blending the dry and wet ingredients. I figured there must be a science to it, so why mess with perfection? Take a 1/3 of the dry ingredients and 1/4 cup of the coconut milk and add to the butter mixture and blend well. Next, add another 1/3 of the dry ingredients and 1/4 cup of coconut milk and blend again. Add the remaining 1/3 of the dry ingredients to the mixture.

Stir in the apples and mix well. Pour into the pie or cake pan.

Prepare the topping: In a small bowl, combine the oats, coconut sugar, cinnamon, salt and chopped nuts. Mix in melted butter. Sprinkle over the cake. Bake for about 40 minutes. Cake is down when it is lightly brown and a knife inserted into center of cake comes out clean. Take out and let cool for about 20 minutes. Run a butter knife around the edges to loosen before cutting.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

