CHICKEN + BEAN COMFORT SOUP

Chicken and Bean Soup

I believe women love the holidays, but dread the caloric increase that comes with it. Do you find it hard to make healthful food choices this time of year? Does the stress and hustle and bustle of running around to get everything done, just make you want to order in for pizza when you finally get home? Well that is how I usually get during the holidays. And then my poor eating choices make me even more lethargic and exercising is usually the farthest from my mind! Are you relating here, ladies?

I am breaking that tradition starting this year! I am determined to eat healthful this holiday season. And I am having fun creating different comfort foods to satisfy my palate and tummy! I even got a personal fitness coach to help recommend exercise programs I can do from home that meet my personal needs and she keeps me accountable! Even coaches need coaches!

The temperature finally dropped the other day, with a cold front finally hitting the south. Now we can decorate and feel like Christmastime is here. I always find it so hard to feel the magic of the holidays when it’s like 84 degrees out and humid. So what better way to end the day than with some warm soup! Ahhhh….

I added kale and kombu to ramp up the nutrition. Kale contains protein (yes, protein), fiber, vitamins A, C + K, folate, potassium, calcium and zinc. Kombu is a nutritional powerhouse for soups! It’s a type of sea vegetable and contains fucoidan (protects from radiation), calcium potassium, iodine, and even magnesium. These glorious green foods, truly make this a nourishing meal.

Ingredients:

1 pd. cooked organic chicken breast, chopped

2 cans cannellini beans, rinsed + drained

2 medium leeks, washed and sliced thin (white + light green parts only)

4 cups organic vegetable broth

4 garlic cloves, minced

5-7 kale leaves, chopped

1 kombu strip

1/4 tsp. ground sage

1/4 tsp. ground black pepper

1 sprig of fresh rosemary (about 5 inches long)

3 tsp. grape seed oil

Preparation:

Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat.

Add leeks and cook for about 5 minutes.

Add garlic, sage, black pepper and beans, stir well and cook for a couple of minutes.

Add broth, chicken, kale and rosemary. Mix together and let it cook until bubbly.

Reduce heat and cook for about 20 more minutes to let the flavors marry.

Leave a Reply

