BERRY-SPECIAL FRENCH TOAST

Berry French Toast

We just celebrated another anniversary. It has been 11 years of growth, sacrifice, joy, laughter, selflessness, gratefulness, fun, excitement, adventure, disappointment, forgiveness, hope, unconditional love, and I wouldn’t change it for anything. I am so grateful for all of God’s provisions, wisdom, grace and unconditional love. I never knew how hard marriage could be and no one really warns you!

It’s ironic how we invest our time and money for our career, education, hobbies, and even working out. But we don’t think twice to do it for our marriages. My husband and I have always been intentional about growing in our marriage. We have spent the last few years with marriage mentors through our church and we are now a part of the marriage ministry called ReEngage. This was one of the best decisions we have made for our family. If you are looking to strengthen your marriage, save your marriage or even have the hope to save a marriage that is already over; this is the place to go. With God, all things are possible!

Anniversary Collage

To show my husband, how much I appreciate and love him, I wanted to make him a nice breakfast. He loooooooves a home-cooked meal, especially when I make it. I was anticipating a busy day with my business and homeschooling, so I wanted to make sure we started it off really special. So, the night before, I prepared a breakfast casserole to help save time since my husband gets up at the crack of dawn.

Originally, I was going to make my Pecan Banana French Toast Casserole, but I was out of bananas! Soooooo, my creative juices kicked in and here is what I created. He loves berries, so I knew this was going to be a hit!

Ingredients:

5 slices gluten free bread (I use Udi’s)

4 organic free-range eggs, beaten

1/2 cup fresh raspberries

1/2 cup fresh blueberries

1 ½ cups coconut milk

¼ cup of raw honey

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract or 1 vanilla bean (I prefer the vanilla bean)

½ tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. sea salt

1/16 tsp. ground nutmeg

Coconut oil (for greasing the pan)

Topping:

1 cup pecans

½ tsp. ground cinnamon

1 Tbs. coconut oil

1 Tbs. raw honey

Casserole Preparation:

Grease an 8×8 baking pan with coconut oil.

Cube the bread into large pieces and place in a medium bowl.

In a large bowl, mix together the eggs, milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, vanilla and honey.

Add the cubed bread into the egg mixture and mix up really well.

Place in the refrigerator and let soak for at least an hour or even overnight.

While the bread is soaking, prepare the pecan topping.

Topping Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix all of the topping ingredients in a small bowl.

Spread out on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

Bake for about 15 minutes, check at the 10 minute mark to stir them around for an even roast.

Store in an airtight container and keep at room temperature, if cooking the casserole the next day.

The next day or an hour later:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Take casserole out of the refrigerator and let it warm up for about 20 minutes. (I don’t like to go from cold to hot with a glass dish.)

Mix in the fruit and spread the pecan topping evenly over the top.

Bake for about 50 minutes. Done when knife comes out clean. Let it sit for at least 5-10 minutes before cutting.

Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

