TUNA SALAD WITH A KICK

Tuna Salad PostThe weather is still quite scorching down here in Florida. Anyone else still sweating profusely as you walk outside? So I like to keep our meals a little light. Lunch is always a challenge for me to get creative, so I resorted to an old fashioned recipe with a little twist. Tuna fish salad isn’t something I eat often, but do get a craving for once in a while. I tweaked this recipe from my godmother’s famous tuna salad. It is hands-down, one of the best I’ve ever had. Her secret to an upscale, mouth-watering tuna salad is nutmeg and horseradish! It gives it a nice kick with a smidgeon (as my godmother would say) of these two ingredients. Who knew! I added celery seed and lime essential oil to give the flavor more depth. This really took it to a new level of flavor!

I made this for my husband and he loves to eat it with crackers. I like to hollow out cucumbers and make little tuna fish “boats”. No pun untended here folks! You can even garnish them with a little tomato.

Ingredients:

3 cans Wild Planet tuna (our local Costco carries it)

1/2 sweet onion, diced

2 celery stalks with leaves, chopped

5 Tbs mayonnaise (I use Just Mayo)

1 1/2 tsp horseradish

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

1/8 tsp celery seed

3 drops pure lime essential oil

Salt + Pepper to taste

Preparation:

In a medium-sized bowl, combine all of the ingredients and mix well. Refrigerate for about 30 minutes. It seems to taste better when you let the salad sit, so the flavors can marry. If you are famished, then just enjoy immediately. πŸ™‚

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

