CRUNCHY SALMON PATTIES

salmon-patties

I love salmon! It’s one of my favorite proteins. It’s easy to make and loaded with so many nutrients such as Omega 3’s for healthy brain function, B12, potassium and selenium to help support your overall health. My godmother gave me one of her delicious secret recipes for salmon patties. I tweaked it and put my own twist on it. I posted this pic on my Instagram page several weeks ago, so here is the recipe as promised! My godmother baked her salmon, but I wanted a little more crunch and it was 97 degrees outside, so I fried mine in avocado oil. It’s also gluten-free and Paleo-friendly! Woohoo!!!

Make sure toΒ purchase only wild caught salmon, not farmed. Farmed salmon is very toxic. The farmers use pesticides to ward off sea lice and antibiotics to fight infection, due to the overcrowded fish farms. Farmed salmon are also given a pigment to enhance their lack of color, called canthaxanthin. This ingredient has been found to negatively affect the pigment of the eye retina. When you consume these fish, you consume these toxins. And they don’t leave your body naturally.

Ingredients:

3 cans of wild caught salmon

2 eggs

1/4 cup almond meal

1 celery stalk + leaves, chopped

2 inches of a leek, chopped

3 Tbs fresh parsley, chopped

2 Tbs Mayo ( I use Just mayo)

1 tsp smoked paprika

1 tsp sea salt

Juice of 1/2 a lime (or lemon)

1 Tbs Avocado oil (more if needed + you can use any high smoke point oil)

 

Preparation:

Heat a large frying pan on medium-high heat. (Prepping this recipe doesn’t take long, so I usually start heating up my cast iron pan once I have gathered my ingredients.)

Drain salmon and place in a large mixing bowl.

Add the remaining ingredients (except avocado oil) and mix well.

Add the avocado oil to the pan and let it warm up for about 20 seconds.

Gently form the mixture into small patties. It will seem a little too wet, but it firms up once you start frying them. I make the patties as I cook them, that way I don’t worry about them losing shape as they are sitting out. I yielded five large patties with this recipe.

Immediately place the patties into the frying pan. Cook until golden brown and flip over and cook the other side for about the same time. It only took me about 3-4 minutes on each side. They cooked pretty fast in my cast iron pan.

Enjoy over a nice bed of greens and squeeze some extra lime juice before over the fish, before serving. I made some steamed broccoli for my little guy and he devoured it!

Bon appetite!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

