SATURDAY FRITTATA

fritatta

Happy New Year! I hope you had a wonderful holiday season! Our family went up to Georgia to spend time with family and get some much needed rest. Then we returned and got hit really hard with a nasty bug! We are on the mend now and looking forward to getting back to our daily routines.

So I finally found the picture that goes with this recipe, so now I can share it with you! I love making a big breakfast for my family on the weekends. I love to let my husband sleep in and wake up to the smell of bacon, fresh brewed coffee and whatever recipe I am creating in the kitchen. My husband works really hard during the week, so one of my “love-languages” is “acts of service”, so cooking is a way I like to express my love for him. I recently made this delicious, yet Candida-friendly, vegetable frittata for breakfast. If you aren’t on any food restrictions, it would go nicely with some whole-grain or gluten-free toast!

If you have a cast-iron pan, well drag it out of your cabinet or drawer and let’s get cooking! I don’t know about you, but cast-iron pans weigh a ton, so I literally drag mine out every time I use it! I chose asparagus for something different in my morning eggs and I was quite impressed with the benefits of these little green trees. They contain antioxidants, vitamin B12, high in amino acids, and are loaded with vitamins A, C, K, fiber and folate. How good is that?

Here is what I threw together to make this yummy frittata:

5 eggs, scrambled

10 asparagus spears, chopped into 1 inch pieces

1/2 red pepper, diced

4 green onions, diced

1/3 cup of goat cheese

Salt + Pepper to taste

1 Tbs Ghee (can find in health food stores)

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Heat up a medium-sized cast iron pan (or any pan that can go into the oven), on medium-high.

Add the ghee and then the asparagus and the red pepper. Saute for about 2 minutes.

Then add the green onions and cook for about a minute.

Next, add the scrambled eggs, salt and pepper to taste, and evenly spread the goat cheese over the mixture. I picked a firmer goat cheese, so it was easy to break apart.

Let the pan sit on the stove for a few minutes to cook the bottom part of the frittata.

Place the pan in the preheated oven and bake for about 10 minutes. You don’t want to overcook it. Eggs keep cooking once you take them off of the heat.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

