BERRY BEETIFUL SMOOTHIE

Okay, I could not resist this pun! I recently made a delicious berry + beet juice and the inspiration was from a drink I grabbed from Whole Foods’ juice bar the other day. Beets help purify your liver and blood. And since I have been feeling a bit stagnant, I thought beets would be a good base for a detox juice. These ruby beauties contain vitamins A + C, B6, and folate, not to mention minerals such as potassium, magnesium, manganese and calcium.  Beets are high in sugar. One cup is about 9 grams of sugar, so use them in moderation. I only used a 1/4 cup of my beet juice blend for my smoothie and then diluted it with coconut water. The greens really help offset the sugar content.

And don’t forget to use the leaves of the beet root! I recently discovered that beet greens have more iron than spinach! So don’t discard the leaves when juicing! This beauty elixir was a labor of love since there is a two-step process. First, I made the beet juice and then I used some of it for my smoothie. Use organic when possible! I found the ginger and lemon or lime, help cut the earthy flavor of beets!

Beet Juice Ingredients + Instructions: (Juice these ingredients in a juicer)

2 organic beets, washed and cut into quarters

leaves of the beets

1 organic Granny Smith apple, quartered

1 organic cucumber, cut off ends

1 organic zucchini, cut off ends

1 head of organic romaine lettuce, washed + cut off ends  (I used the prepared one in the 3-pack)

1 organic lemon or lime

1-2  inches of fresh ginger

Pour into a glass jar and seal tightly with a lid. (This helps keep it fresh, longer.)

Smoothie Ingredients:

1/4 cup of the homemade beet juice

1/4 cup coconut water (add more if needed to blend mixture)

1/2 cup organic blueberries

1/2 cup organic strawberries, cut off stems

1/2 frozen banana, cut into large chunks (omit if sugar is an issue)

**If your berries aren’t frozen, you may want to add a little ice for a nice smoothie consistency.

Blend until smooth, in a high-powered blender like a Blendtec.

I add a drop of doTERRA lime essential oil to my smoothie. It really adds a deeper citrus flavor and compliments the beet and ginger flavors!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

